Improve web UI prompt to activate/deploy lastest version

Comments

3 comments

  • Austin Spires

    @andrew convenient timing -- we do have some changes in the works that will prevent this confusion. They're part of a broader set of work that should improve things overall.

  • rossPatton

    Also experiencing some pain here.

    Recently I've attempted to deploy a new version of the site (only a few lines of css changes) and the 'This version is inactive. Would you like to deploy it now?' prompt does not go away, even after clicking activate. I just keep going up in version number, the prompt pops back up, and the old version of the site keeps getting served.

    When I go to the dns name directly I get the correct version of the site.

  • Amy Lam

    Hi Ross - To answer part of your question - when you activate a new version, the cache is not purged. You can Purge by URL or run a Purge All when changing versions as a best practice. (However, be careful with Purge All if you have a lot of traffic on your site.)

    You can run a curl -svo /dev/null www.yoururlhere.com in your terminal if it appears that the old version of the site keeps getting served. Look for the results such as:

    < Age: 17 < Connection: keep-alive < X-Served-By: cache-sjc3131-SJC < X-Cache: HIT < X-Cache-Hits: 1 < X-Timer: S1447707863.520403,VS0,VE1

    Age - How long it's been in the cache. Following a purge, this should be a low number (17 seconds right now). X-Cache: HIT - This has previously been accessed in the cache since the last Purge or TTL expiring.

    As for the "Would you like to deploy it now?" persisting, this should be fixed when our new UI launches, I'm curious if it goes away for you on a refresh? Happy to look into it if you want to send your Customer ID to support@fastly.com or can chat in IRC at https://webchat.freenode.net/.

Please sign in to leave a comment.